Connie Mom’s Children’s Book Translation Club

This is a picture of my very first Children’s Book Translation Club. I choose 10 of the top writing students from my writing class. Their oral English doesn’t have to be exceptional but their written English must be some of my best students. They come to my house one night a week from 6:30 until 9:30PM. I choose a book, read it to them, discuss the culture, definition and word meaning and then they divide the book into sections. The whole group is divided into small groups of two. During the week each team or pair does their version of the Chinese translation of the English text. The following week they return to my apartment and work in the large group, each group reading their version and then they “negotiate” meaning and a “group” translation together in the large group. Here is a picture of my first years students in this club, getting their awards:

A picture at my apartment working on their group translation of the children’s book.

About conniemomgibson

Connie Mom has become my title as well as my name at Jiangxi Normal University in Nanchang, Jiangxi, China were I have been a professor since 2000, over 10 years. My love and passion is in teaching and speaking. My students are consistently some of the most talented and amazing young people anywhere! I have been blessed to have trained many successful students who have won CCTV Cup English Speaking contests as well as others, including teaching contests.
This entry was posted in Jiangxi Normal University-Mom's activities. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment